Akamai To Acquire Linode

I got an email that Akamai is planning on acquiring Linode for $900M, L1T’s beloved sponsor.

I’ve been using Linode for several years to host a minecraft server and an email server. The $100 referral credit from L1T seems like an arbitrage opportunity, although I am already a current customer for several years. I have to admit that I fall asleep at night trying to find some ethical loophole that will allow me to take advantage of the credit.

5 Likes

I got as far as where the press release said “metaverse”, and then closed the tab. :unamused:

Not a huge fan of Akamai. Maybe they won’t screw it up? I guess we’ll see.

7 Likes

Have been using Linode over a decade. They have been doing amazing things for longer than that, and their trajectory has been nothing but steadily upward. I have a hard time seeing how Akamai really brings anything to the table here to make Linode better than they already are. This smells to me like Chris wanted to get out and a sale was the easiest way. I’m dubious to say the least.

3 Likes

Listened to some of the Akami call; so it’s a $900M cash purchase, with an expected 2022 revenue addition of $100M. That’s a 9x revenue valuation, pretty high in this market, unless Linode was growing at 40% y.o.y.!

But then again Akami had 0% growth over the fiscal year for the CDN service, and only 25% growth in security, which is 39% of revenue, so … kinda had to buy something.

If Chris leaves, in a year, Akamai will probably screw it up and kill the growth. It was disappointing not see him at least be given a potemkin title.

3 Likes

I dunno in most cases acquisitions don’t work out well for similarly sized companies. See any videos from this guy. The ones that go well are substantially bigger.

1 Like

Do you know what Linode’s YOY growth is? Can’t be 40%.

1 Like

The initial 40% was a guestimate based on how we value companies; usually the revenue multiple is 6.5 * growth rate, so 9/6.5 = ~1.4 or 40%.