Advice on how to best utilize my ZFS pool

Hi there,
Long time fan of L1T, first time poster :slight_smile:

I have 40TB of a nice fresh zpool waiting to be used, but I’m not sure on how to use it given my unique setup.

This is a Debian based machine which acts as a hypervisor using KVM for a bunch of VM’s, one of which is my Windows Domain Controller as I run a domain at home.

I was thinking of creating a massive virtual HDD in the zpool and having Windows handle all the file sharing and then I can also take advantage of Windows’ nice block level dedupe but I’m not sure if I’ll take a massive performance penalty by doing this or if this presents data integrity problems? (I’m very new to ZFS)

The Debian machine is domain joined so I could use the ZFS storage bare metal, as it were, and use SAMBA to make it available to Windows.

Most of the data that will be going on here are rips of my BluRays which my family will stream via Plex so decent performance is top of my list.

Any advice is greatly appreciated, and I’m happy to go with the flow if I’m missing a better solution? :slight_smile:

Many thanks
Steve

Can you give us more specs?

CPU, memory, drive config, gpu (if any).

How many VMs running which OS’s?

Are you running plex in a vm? What OS?

I’m not sure if I’d recommend this for a very large pool, but I’m also not a Windows guy, so maybe it’s not terrible. The way you want to do it is to create a zvol which you’ll use as a drive device for your vm.

As far as dedup goes, if you have enough RAM, deduping your VM’s OS drives can make sense because there’s a lot of redundancy there, but for mass storage for SMB sharing, maybe WIndows dedup is better (I have no idea).

Apologies I should have included that first >.<

Specs:

• Processor E5-1620v3 (3.5Ghz)
  • Ram 128GB Kingston ECC DDR4
  • GPU’s 1x AMD…something (basic GFX for Debian), 1x nVidia Quadro P600 (GPU Decoder for Plex).
  • SSD’s: 2x 1TB Intel nVme Drives (Host Boot, Storage, SLOG, L2ARC)