Advice for new MD Simulation Research/Gaming Workstation (Work from Home)

Hey everybody I am an experienced PC builder but I’m looking for advice on workstations since in prior years I built PCs mostly from an Enthusiast perspective with other considerations second. However, I have recently started a graduate school program in physics and I will be supplementing my Theoretical Physics Research. I will probably have access to a Cluster for more intense calculations but I will also be working a lot from home due to COVID. Tons of new parts have been released (or will be released) and I’m looking to get a great bang for the buck workstation that can both game and run short(er) (MD simulations always take a ton of time) simulations from home before I deploy calculations onto a Cluster.

Here are my current specs

• Ryzen 7 1700X
  • GTX 1080 Ti
  • EVGA 850W PSU
  • 32 GB DDR4 3200Mhz
  • Gsync 1440p UW monitor (Least Concern part I just want fast performance in my applications)

Here is the Software Suite I am planning to use:

• GROMACS
  • LAMMPS
  • Mathematica
  • Quantum Espresso
  • Lecture & Office Hours Streaming/Video
  • Python/C++ Programming

Here are my Gaming use Cases

• 1440p Ultrawide
  • Valve Index VR
  • 60 fps minimum w/ no tearing
  • 90 fps preferred due to VR gaming
  • Monster Hunter World
  • Dark Souls 1-3
  • Don’t Starve Together
  • Crusader Kings III
  • Space Pirate Simulator
  • Half-Life Alyx

The Bulk of my research will likely be done with Pen and Paper Mathematics as well as Mathematica Notebooks, but for the times I need to run simulations and test code at home I would like to have something fast enough to perform the computations quickly enough to make testing models less of a headache. Additionally, I do some streaming and make videos on the side when I teach students and I want my streams to be as high of quality as they possibly can be. When teaching heavy multi-tasking is a must.