Advice for building a new website

Let me preface this by saying I have never built a website before. However, I am determined to do this and I’m not scared of trying.

Our company website, well, I’ll admit it’s just shit. Like so bad I’m too embarrassed to show you guys. It’s made using WordPress with the Divi theme and hosted on our own server. It is slow as fuck and clunky (stutters when scrolling, etc). I don’t think it’s because of our server, this server doesn’t do anything other than host our low-traffic site. Is this because of the theme, or WordPress in general? I guess my question is, should I be using WordPress? Or has this platform become antiquated?

We are a Managed IT Services Provider, so our website doesn’t really have any functionality, it’s just informative. If you guys have any suggestions or resources I could use, that would be great. I think our website is one thing that is hindering our growth. I have the free time to work on this project and if I could whip out a slick website my boss would be happy (:

Squarespace seems to be a fairly popular option nowadays.

I would recommend SquareSpace hands down. Also, Wordpress vulnerabilities are always in the news. Would not want to use a Wordpress site for e-Commerce unless you had a person dedicated to deal with Wordpress issues.

I’m gonna check SquareSpace out. Thankfully we don’t do any business on our site, it’s just a place for people to go when they see our signs to read about what services we offer.

Something like squarespace is probably simplest, since it takes care of building your site and hosting it. Of course you also pay for that indefinitely, and I’m not sure if it’s possible to migrate out later.

Coming from a non-web-developer, a roll-your-own site is going to have quite a learning curve. At least some html, css, js, and perhaps some server-side language as well, along with various frameworks… quickly can get overwhelming.