4-month long nightmare

Hello all. I started a build about 4 months ago and, despite spending a ton of $, have yet to get a system that will even POST. It’s not the first computer I’ve built (I’m a computer scientist and my wife is a senior semi engineer). I can’t for the life of me figure out what’s going on. Here’s a quick rundown of what I’ve tried:

1. Intel w9/ASUS ws790e-sage-se: I ended up buying 2 of these CPUs, 4 of the motherboards, a new be quiet! Dark Power Pro 1600W PSU (I had a Corsair hx1500i), and a bunch of DDR5 ECC RAM from the MB QVL. I was unable to get any combination of any of these components to successfully POST, getting a q-code of 0x92 across the board.

2. Threadripper PRO 7975WX/ASUS wrx90: I ended up buying two of these MBs and one CPU. One of the MBs wouldn’t even light up (there was no indication that it was even receiving power), and the other failed to POST.

3. AMD EPYC 9554/ASRock Rack GENOAD8X-2T/BCM: again, I bought two of these motherboards and one CPU. One of them wouldn’t power on at all (even though the BCM heartbeat light was on). With the other one, when you hit the power button, the fans would start spinning and the debug LED would immediately light up 0x00 and not change at all.

Like I said, I’m at a loss. We work on an ESD mat, I read the manuals, abide by QVLs, we check each others work… If anybody here has any ideas or recommendations, we’d really appreciate it. At this point I’m seriously considering giving up.

I should add that, for each of these builds we did the standard troubleshooting stuff (1 DIMM, reseating everything, no GPU, no M.2 NVMe, different PSUs, disconnect & reconnect all cabling, …). We also worked with ASUS support (which was not helpful in the least, and ASRock support, which was helpful but unable to resolve the issues we were having).