4-drive Linux Plex server build outgrown, ready to build my dream rackmount setup

Hi All,

I’ve been running a 4 drive plex server running on linux mint for a number of years. However my Fractal Node/mobo is running out of space and ports for more drives and am looking to get something a bit more serious.

Always dreamed of building a rackmount system. I would love to consolidate my gaming PC, networking gear, linux/plex server and potentially a big storage array and possibly my home audio receiver into a rackmount setup. I have zero experience with this type of build and have always been a desktop builder.

Anyone know of a good place to start with this? I know this type of setup could get fairly expensive as well as having a high learning curve if I get into a non-desktop OS for the plex server/storage array portion, but am willing to learn drop a decent amount of money into building my dream setup :smile:

1 Like

For starters, pause and have a good think if you really want a 24/7 server rack running in your house and if so, where will you put it w/o pi55ing off other occupants of the building. Real servers are loud and power hungry and thus only really tolerable by geeks. :wink:

Next step, assuming you can get away with it, consider the size of your actual rack. A 42U rack is pretty standard, but about 7’ (2.10m in ISO units) tall. Smaller sizes are available but only a few standard sizes. Then figure out where to get it from. If you can, buy used from a local marketplace because new is enterprise pricing $$$$.

Building your own server isn’t that much different then a regular PC. It’s just some parts are different and you probably haven’t seen them before. Used servers can be cheap-ish, but are limited in PCIe slots and/or thread count. Used server parts are a better value, especially from Aliexpress is my experience.

There are quite a few of similar threads here with good advise, have a browse and learn.

1 Like