Integrated Nics are TOE ready
Embedded VMware ESX 3i v 3.5 2Cpu Licenses
Intel pro 1000 VT quad port
64gb memory, 16x4gb, 667mhz
Dvd RW drive, internal, sata
Perc6i SAS Raid Controller Internal with battery
1gb USB, Internal contains embedded hypervisor
1x5 SAS Backplane, for 3.5 SAS Hard drive only Poweredge R900

That last line has me worried. I want to pick these up for playing around with but don't want to have to buy SAS drives for it. I looked up the raid controller and it says it will work with SATA drives.

Before I put the money into this can a backplane be only SAS?

SATA vs SAS As Fast As Possible

According to Linus, SATA will work on any SAS connector, but not vice versa. I have no personal experience with SAS so don't trust me, but rather look into their compatibility on a protocol level

We use Sata drives in our Dell R210s/610s/710s and they work fine. It shouldn't a problem.

3.5" 2.0TB SATA is supported

https://www.dell.com/downloads/global/products/pedge/en/pe_R900_spec_sheet.pdf

SAS is backowercomp with sata but not the otherway arroud, I my self had the "same" porblem. But there is none. SAS would allow you to take full advantage of faster drives like a SSD (If i have understod the tech right) As well as using both sas and sata drives.

While the above posts are correct and SATA is "backwards" compatible with SAS in some instances, the Dell servers I used at my previous job did not accept SATA hard drives since the raid controller firmware would deny them. They would only work with SAS drives, and they only liked Dell branded SAS drives, the activity/health lights would not synchronize correctly on non-Dell drives and it would spit a bunch of health errors in the logs that were false.

You -can- specify you want a SATA raid controller if your purchase it from dell and save money on both the controller and the drives, or replace it with a SATA specific controller. If you have the means, though, stick with SAS.