Zimbra Backup real world experiences?

Hey there,

I tried my luck on Reddit, but seems the people aren’t really alive there, so trying here too :wink:
So, I’m new to Zimbra, (a customer choosed that to migrate from ispconfig) and I’m wondering if I can backup the Blobs (so the mailboxes backup as I understand) on external storage (network mount, NFS/samba/[name your devil here]), and the metadata locally.

Zimbra support told me " this is what’s supported : " referring me to the doc, which wasn’t really helpful.

As we know, the real world tend to be different, and with an expected mail storage size of ~10T , backing up locally doesn’t really makes sense, and I would need to move that afterwards anyway.

Any real life experiences ?

I haven’t seen zimbra in almost 7 years and I wasn’t the one managing or backing it up back then, so I wouldn’t call it “real world.”

https://wiki.zimbra.com/wiki/Backing_up_and_restoring_Zimbra_(Open_Source_Version)#Another_option

The wiki is pretty straight forward. As root:

su - zimbra -c "zmcontrol stop"
pkill zimbra
rsync -varoglAX /path/to/zimbra /path/to/nfs
su - zimbra -c "zmcontrol start"

If you use zfs (or any other file system with snapshot capability) you can get lower down-times:

su - zimbra -c "zmcontrol stop"
pkill zimbra
zfs snapshot -r tank/path/zimbra@20240415
su - zimbra -c "zmcontrol start"
zfs send -v tank/path/zimbra@20240415 | ssh root@backup-server "zfs receive -s tank2/path/zimbra

For incremental zfs send:

zfs send -v -i tank/path/zimbra@20240410 tank/path/zimbra@20240415 | ssh root@backup-server "zfs receive -s tank2/path/zimbra
1 Like

Hey thanks for that sets of small scripts ! I’ll check if my colleagues stumbled on them too.