Zfs advise

Hello Level1Techs Forum,

I’m a newbie when it comes to zfs, and I need some advise. I’d like to migrate my Unraid pool to zfs (on Unraid). I currently have:
4x4Tb Seagate
4x8Tb Wd (one usb)
2x 12Tb Wd (usb)
and a 2tb samsung drive (to be used as drive to start the unraid pool)

My current plan is to build a raidz1 with the 4tb drives and go on from there.
I have a couple questions regarding that.
can I add a second raidz-1 pool (with the 8tb drives) to the existing one(and later the 12tb drives)?
Will I need an ssd for caching?
I have 64Gb of ecc memory (about 48Usable after dockers and vms) is that enough when I upgrade to 4x4tb, 4x8tb, (4x12tb in the furture) all raidz1?
Can I saturate 10gbits?
As My files are mainly music, movies, should I set to pool to use compression?
How can I share my zpool via SMB?
Is my plan to use raidZ1 any good?
Is there anything else I might have missed?

Thanks in advance for reading this.:+1:

PC specs
Ryzen 2600 @3.8Ghz
64Gb Kingston ecc @2666Mhz
ASrock Taichi X370
GeForce GT 710
Unraid 6.8.3

No. Not for streaming movies and music.

Not sure how unraid handles that, freeNAS wants 8GB for itself + 1GB per 1TB of physical disk space. Until you put in the 12TB drives you should definitely be fine.

No.

You will be able to transfer a lot faster than gigabit, for sure. 10Gbit maybe not quite with just four drives for now.

You would (usually) add a vdev to a pool, not a new pool. But that’s just terminology, so yes.

“need” is a strong word. It certainly doesn’t hurt, but it’s not required either.

The filesystem doesn’t really matter for SMB, once it’s mounted the SMB daemon can just access the drives. They are independent components. Unraid already has SMB, it just works transparently.

You can but I wouldn’t.

If you lose a vdev you lose the pool. 1 drive fault tolerance isn’t great.

Depending on how much RAM you assign to ARC, potentially no.

Sure. The 1gb per tb recommendation is a rule of thumb and not a hard line.