Z690 Hard disk storage only Raid 0?

Hi everyone,

I’m an old fart and belong to a model airplane flying club, and take lots of videos. Until the 8TB SATA SSD’s get cheaper, I would like to come up with faster storage for archived videos. What I was hoping I could do, would be to get a couple enterprise class 4TB 7200RPM drives, and Raid 0 them, and I would use my 8TB as a backup. Is it possible to boot my system off of my 980 Pro SSD, yet still have a Raid 0 array just for storage? Excuse my ignorance, I’ve never done it before. Thank you for any insight. :slight_smile:

Specs:
12700k CPu
ASUS Z690-E Gaming Wifi
32GB 5600Mhz DDR5
Windows 11 Pro latest Build

Yes you can. Just install your new hard drives and use storage spaces.

This is the process:

1. Add or connect the drives that you want to group together with Storage Spaces.
  2. Go to the taskbar, type Storage Spaces in the search box, and select Storage Spaces from the list of search results.
  3. Select Create a new pool and storage space.
  4. Select the drives you want to add to the new storage space, and then select Create pool.
  5. Give the drive a name and letter, and then choose a layout. Two-way mirror, Three-way mirror, and Parity can help protect the files in the storage space from drive failure.
  6. Enter the maximum size the storage space can reach, and then select Create storage space.

I haven’t used Windows for a while, but I have used it before with external USB disks and it was fine.

1 Like

Hello and thank you for the reply. But I’m pretty sure what I want to accomplish, needs to be done through the motherboards chipset. It’s not redundancy I’m after, it’s the speed of RAID0.

RAID0 for backup? That does not sound like a good idea. If any of the drives fails in a RAID0 you lose all data on both drives

Have you checked out used enterprise SSD’s? Can get some pretty large SSD’s for cheap

Can’t help with your question, just throwing ideas out there

1 Like