WRX90 build with enterprise SSDs

TLDR; WRX90 + 2xA100 & RX7900XTX + at least 256GB RAM + enterprise SSDs

Hi everyone,

I recently got permission to build a workstation for work, and could use some tips and recommendations on the planned build, as I have never built a true WS myself before.

Why:
I’m a computational astrophysicist and AI researcher. I code/run/debug/analyze hydrodynamical simulations half of my time and train AI models for these simulations and also other kinds of data such as medical images for the rest. Long story short, I need (prioritized in that order) multiple GPUs, tons of fast RAM, tons of storage (preferably fast and low latency), and as many cores as fit in my provided budget.

Components:
I cashed in some favors and managed to get an A100 GPU for free (perhaps a second one coming in this summer) and can install a RX 7900XTX (for 2x4K displays) from an “old” system where we experimented with AMD GPUs. I also already have a 1600W PSU. I could also get my hands on either Kioxia CM7, CD8, or Micron 9400 Max, when we order the next round of storage for our servers. Unfortunately I have no experience with server-grade SSDs in workstations (tips specifically on this would be appreciated, especially connectors); from what I understood, the MCIO or SlimSAS connectors of the AsRock WRX90 could be used for those… (I had bad experiences with Asus mainboards on my personal builds, so I’m biased towards AsRock).

• MB: AsRock WRX90 WS Evo
  • CPU: TR Pro 7975WX (or TR Pro 7985WX)
  • GPU: AMD RX 7900XTX, Nvidia A100 (x2)
  • RAM: Kingston Fury 8x32GB 6000 (KF560R32RBK8-256; need at least 256GB)
  • PSU: Seasonic Prime TX 1600W
  • Storage: 1-5x Crucial T700 4TB (+ 2x Kioxia X121 CM7, 4x Kioxia CD8)
  • Cooling: EK-Pro water cooling sets + Noctua fans

I plan to exclusively run Arch linux on btrfs (in raid 0 if I get more than one SSD).