Workstation build threadripper 7970

Hello everyone,
I discovered this Forum through YouTube and thought it might be wise to join before building my 1st Enthusiast PC or let’s say Consumer workstation.
I am a 3D Artist working for Game Studios and therefore went for this system.

-Threadripper 7970
-Asus Sage Wifi Trx 50 Mainboard
-Noctua NH-D9 TR5-SP6 Str5 cooler
-64GB Kingston Fury Renegade Pro 6400MT/s
-GPU (planned) Rtx4080Super
-PSU Corsair HXi 1000
-3xM2 and couple SSDs.

So, questions I have in mind.

-I want to ask if that PSU is too small for my build?
-I am also not to sure about the Cooler.
But tbh. I read a lot about water coolers - and as much as they used and improved - it’s still a bit of uncertain terrain - especially if you need to rely on your machine - doing client work as a freelancer.

Saw this article tho :
pugetsystems " power-analysis-amd-ryzen-threadripper-7000 "
Seems the fan cooler is not to bad.

Another thing that makes me nervous is how to connect this board to the PSU. I did 2 builds (Intel consumer PC) before that and had no issues. On Reddit, people are stressing about the complexity of attaching this to a PSU.
So I thought it might be a good thing to ask for any traps. Other than that, I’ll go with what the manual (hopefully) points out.

Another thing that I don’t understand with these Boards and the Ram is AMD Expo. Are these over-clockable Rams always clocking lower than advertised - except you activate AMD Expo in the Bios?
If yes, will this change the Clock of my Threadripper too? As I heard about AMDs TR Fuse blowing popup.

So a lot to digest :slightly_smiling_face:

I hope this machine just will be straight forward to build.

Let me know what you think of the components.
Thank you very much

• The Threadripper mainboards are notorious for easily overheat in “normal” cases, you need a lot of airflow over VRMs etc (don’t expect your box to be quiet).
  • You need much better cooling for that CPU than the dinky Noctua cooler