Windows... Which do I get?

Hello! I am looking to build a new computer (for the first time) and have all of my hardware selected, but I don't know which operating system to get, or how I will get it. I really want Windows 7, but from what I have seen Windows 8 is cheaper. I am also not sure if I need to get OEM or if I need the retail versions. For Windows 7, the OEM is cheaper, but the retail is cheaper for Windows 8. I'm pretty sure no one gives out info on "Windows for an amount of money less than or equal to $0", or at least on this website they don't. I am quite new to this so if anybody could tell me the cheapest way to obtain Windows 7 or 8 and if I need the OEM version or not it would be greatly appreciated.

you don't need oem but their is nothing wrong with it. go with win 7 over win 8 for now.

if you want to use more than 16 gb ram http://www.outletpc.com/c5746.html?utm_source=c5746&utm_medium=shopping%2Bengine&utm_campaign=pcpartpicker

if you dont want more than 16 gb's of ram http://www.outletpc.com/c5740.html?utm_source=c5740&utm_medium=shopping%2Bengine&utm_campaign=pcpartpicker

I've been having a good experience with windows 8 so far. I know, call me crazy...

I agree the whole metro stuff is stupid but I've got a program called Start8 to bring the start menu back, boot directly to desktop and hide all the charms, hot corners, ect. It feels exactly like 7 now with all the windows 8 perks.

Some things feel quite a bit more refined than 7, the explorer ribbon is actually kind of useful once you get used to it. You can get rid of it totally by deleting a .dll file somewhere. A lot more of my hardware has become instantly compatible. I've only had to installed my AMD driver on my PC and the Nvidia and synaptics driver on my laptop. All the other drivers that I needed for win7 aren't needed anymore as it's detected and installed everything automatically. Even things like USB3, cameras, fingerprint scanner, all work right off the bat.