Windows pooled storage that actually works?

Hi, I’m new to level one, I posted on the sysadmin subreddit (and can’t link to it when posting here) but a friend suggested that I might get more helpful advice here, so here goes.

I’ve been using Storage Spaces with ReFS in 2-way-mirror mode for a year or two now and it basically doesn’t work whenever IO happens - the virtual drive shows as maxed out at 100% usage with 0 reads and 0 writes, Windows locks up, Explorer greys out for tens of seconds at a time.

I have researched and found out about logical/physical sector sizes, in fact here’s some data:

> Get-PhysicalDisk | select FriendlyName,PhysicalSectorSize,LogicalSectorSize

FriendlyName              PhysicalSectorSize LogicalSectorSize
------------              ------------------ -----------------
WDC WD40EZRZ-00GXCB0                    4096               512
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB                512               512
Seagate Desktop                         4096               512
WDC WD40EZRZ-00WN9B0                    4096               512
WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0                    4096               512

> Get-VirtualDisk | select FriendlyName,PhysicalSectorSize,LogicalSectorSize,Interleave
FriendlyName PhysicalSectorSize LogicalSectorSize Interleave
------------ ------------------ ----------------- ----------
Games                      4096              4096     262144

The pool is made up of 4x4TB WD drives, and the guidance I read was that the logical sector size should equal the largest physical sector size (perhaps this is bad advice?) - turns out it already did, I didn’t need to change that setting.

What bothers me most is that I run a Linux machine with a BTRFS pool on it, ith a variety of differently sized drives, similarly configured for a single level of redundancy in parity, and it works perfectly. So this should work.

Am I doing something wrong? I’m at the point now where I’m thinking of either