Will this old Dell make an okay pfSense router?

I wanted to dive into setting up my own pfSense router to replace my current router appliance, and I am trying to decide if I should build a new box from scratch OR if I should reuse this old Dell Inspiron 3647 that I bought to have a Windows box (vs. my MacBook) but never really used much.

My use-case is for a home router in a one-person home with only a moderate media habit but I plan to build out a nice home lab to learn networking and development software with. (I am currently a professional programmer and have been for years, more recently a lot of DevOps, but now I am getting into system and networking admin too.)

The Dell has a Haswell 4th Gen Intel Core i5-4460S Processor with 8GB Dual Channel DDR3 1600MHz and was recently upgraded to a 90Gb OCZ Vertex 2 SATA II 3.5" SSD.

I assume from the research I should need to get a Intel 1Gb Ethernet adapter since I only have one 1Gb port on the Dell, and assume I should get two ports instead of one, just in case.

Researching it looks like an Intel I350-T2V2 would be a good match as it support PCIe v2.1 and the Dell has two slots; one PCI 2x16 and one PCI 2x1 slots. Does that logic sound solid?

Alternately, if I decide to buy a new(-to-me) components to build a router from ground up, what would be my additional benefits and for those benefits what should I consider getting? I would like to keep it lower power and very quiet. Price is not a big factor, as long as it is within reason.

Celeron, Penguin, Atom C3000, Core i3 or i5, Xeon, Athlon, Ryzen, something else? And what generations?

Any other things that are important to consider when selecting components?

Thank you in advance for your suggestions.

If it’s “free” it’ll do fine, the OCZ drive uses Sandforce controller which isn’t great but it’ll probably work for now at least. Anything that’s Intel or Broadcom (relatively recent) will do fine in most cases as far as network cards goes.