Why are highschool programing classes so bad?

Last year I was taught visual Basic, which was a great start, to learn a language. However, this year I wanted to formally learn a real language. So I took the only other option available to me, java class. I was excited to learn, but quickly became disappoint. The class was extremely slow, and I would finish programs by the end of class. Then halfway through the year the teacher decided she didn't like java, and started teaching html(something I already knew). And she didn't teach html5, she taught old html without css. Next year I will be enrolling in a technology program, where I will be forced to retake visual Basic and html again. Any advice?

I'm not a programmer but I did survive high school and I can give you the most professional advice evar:
Don't count on teachers to teach you anything. They're doing a job and for most it becomes routine, they just want to get it easy, not be mentors for others. Look up to people like Steve Wozniak, he's got the right idea of what teaching should be about. Try to find a mentor like that or keep going solo until you do find one. Most programmers will tell you learning on your own is the best way to learn anyway (of course, learning from others' mistakes is the best way, no need to reinvent the wheel).

As a HS student I cannot agree more.
All technology related classes are bs, at least in Australia (QLD), and are known to cause brain hemorrhages.
Open a book / site and you will save yourself a lot of trouble

At least you guys have high school programming class the closest thing I have is a robotics class with those Lego robots.

Go to university, take programming, hate computers for it. Thats where I got to. Didn't meet another deadline like every other student in my programming paper

Why? Because the more people educate themselves, the less government will be needed to take care of them, so the government solution is to make education next to impossible to achieve.