Why are 4 digit PINs used?

(Note: I am completely new to security and hacking so please excuse my lack of knowledge.) As per the title, Why are 4 digit pins used? They have a max of only 10,000 combinations and would only take minutes if not seconds to crack. Yet they are widely used both in finances and other accounts.

Convenience.

If you combine a 4 digit pin with say, a max of 5 attempts before lockout it can be “Secure enough” without being a pain in the balls to actually enter all the time.

Doesn’t matter that there are only 10,000 combinations when you only get to try 5 of them.

This is why you enter your pin too many times on an ATM and your card doesn’t come out.

6 Likes

I would guess it is a combination of convenience (as @thro said) and the stuff beeing quite old. Electronics weren´t always dirt cheap.

1 Like

This.

A PIN’s security doesn’t come from the PIN itself, but from the lockout that happens when you mess it up enough times.

2 Likes

Couldn’t the 10,000 combination cap become a problem when implemented across millions of accounts and devices due to repetition? I could see a system wherein it inputs the 4 or five statistically most common PIN’s and if they don’t work move on to another account.

In most cases, you need the plastic card and the pin.
I don´t know how exactly they generate the pins, but I would imagine they are quite random.

1 Like

Also (as @MazeFrame pointed out) it employs a kind of two factor authentication. In theory, the code should be worthless without the card.

Historical.

Some cards support more.

Long time ago there were cheques where signatures were enough.

Then mechanical imprinters showed up and embossing from the card + signature were enough.

Then magnetic stripe + signature were enough.

Then chips readers showed up, and all of a sudden you had swipe and sign, and chip and pin, and chip and sign, and swipe and pin.