Where to start with Linux?

Hey, I’m a complete newbie to this so, I’m not sure where I should start with Linux.

I went ahead and installed Fedora (this version to be exact) and messed around with it but, I don’t understand the command line and generally how things work.

Where can I learn the very basics of Linux and the whole command line thing?

Well, that’s largley dependent on what you’re doing.
Some must knows, though:

• grep
  • cat
  • echo
  • su
  • sudo
  • your package manager (on Fedora you’ll be using “dnf”)

The best way to do this is simply to read the man pages. If you want to read the man page for a particular program, simply type “man” and then the program name. If you wanted to read the man page for su, for example, type “man su”.

Another quick pointer – most programs have a “help” option. For example, typing “grep --help” will print a basic summary of things you can do with grep. The “help” flag usually has two dashes before it, as do most flags in GNU/Linux programs.

Just know that you’re probably going to find yourself using the --help command a whole lot when you first start using a program, it’s a natural part of learning. Try not to get too frustrated if you can’t remember something.

Hope this helps. If you’re still having trouble, ask around here. I’m always happy to help when I have the time. :slight_smile:

1 Like

your package manager (on Fedora you’ll be using “yum”)

Fedora has switched to dnf since Fedora 22. At this point, I believe yum is just a wrapper script to call the appropriate dnf command, and is scheduled to be removed in a future release.

3 Likes

Ahh, thanks for the information. I haven’t used Fedora in quite a while so I didn’t know this. The post has been fixed.

For installing minecraft there was some commands like sudu followwed by a ton of crap and gobleygook.
Use mouse to copy the whole mess
Paste in terminal window
Press enter

Cheating is always easier then learning :slight_smile: