What's some neat stuff I can use Windows Server for?

I haven’t got any professional IT certifications, or any IT qualifications beyond a generic “I can do the computer” grade from school. At university, I did a social sciences degree. So basically I lack the educational background for a gig in IT. I run a bunch of Linux servers on a voluntary basis for a global non-profit so I’m not without any level of experience, just don’t really have any pieces of paper to show for it.

I recently landed an interview for an IT position managing a school network, providing IT support to staff, configuring new systems - basic stuff to a lot of you. The job went over to a “slightly more experienced candidate”. The interviewer, who was the head of IT at the school, seemed genuinely impressed with my Linux background even without the professional / educational background, but when asked if I’d ever used Windows Server in a production environment I had to say no. This seemed to put me back a few points.

Not saying I didn’t get the job solely because I haven’t used Windows Server in production, but I’m of the mind that it had something to do with the position to someone “slightly” more experienced.

Trouble is - when I think of stuff that I could do with a server, Windows never seems to fit the bill so I don’t really know what I could work on to get a foothold in Windows IT administration. So how could I get started? Or is the answer to seek some courses / certification?

3 Likes

To be honest, I think you do have something to show by running Linux servers – most IT professionals never get the chance to do anything with Linux.