What title to use on my CV?

I have about 5 years of experience in software development as a consultant. I have been mostly focus on working with backend systems and I have a bachelor degree in system development. Now I need to refresh my CV and I am not sure what title I should put there because there are so many that fits me. These I believe are the alternatives:

1. Backend Developer
  2. Backend Engineer
  3. System Developer
  4. System Engineer
  5. Software Developer
  6. Software Engineer

What are the main differences between these? I have been working mostly with designing and implementing API’s, building CI/CD pipelines, automating repetitive tasks and building various systems for moving and processing files between systems, storages etc. Which title seems most fitting? Most professional?

Have you considered architect?
I have no knowledge of IT but in my space it would fit.

They are mostly interchangeable, pick the one most suited for the job you are applying for :slight_smile:

1 Like

As long as you are qualified for the position you are applying for (not inflating experience with a title), use the same title they use on the advert for the job/job description.

Those are all interchangeable with the exception of developer and engineer. In some places you require a degree to be considered and legally use the engineer title, in others it doesn’t matter and they are used interchangeably.

2 Likes

Dammit, forgot about that one…yes I guess I have been an architect as well. :smiley:

Yes well I live in Sweden so here people more or less never use titles and there is certainly no laws regulating that stuff.