What needs to happen to Linux to have a Year of the Linux desktop?

I am an artist, graphics designer, and I dabble in web design on the UX side of the equation. Microsoft wants to jam AI into everything and strong arm everyone into Windows 11 and the upcoming Windows 12 (even though Windows 10 is faster than Windows 11). I tried to switch to Linux in 2022, and again in 2023, but it didn’t work out.

I really want to switch to Linux permanently, but Clip Studio Paint, and the Affinity suite do not run well in Wine, and do not always run well in virtual machines like Boxes and Virtual Box. My computer is all new within the last year (AMD Ryzen 9 7900X, AMD Radeon RX 7900 XTX, G-Skill Flare X5 64 GB DDR5 6000 kit, 3 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVME SSDs, on an Asus ROG Strix B650 E-F motherboard, mounted into a Phanteks Enthoo Evolve X chassis, with a EVGA G2 850 Watt Power supply - yeah, I know this power supply is just enough). So my computer is capable for the work I need it to do.

For the record I am not looking for help to switch to Linux again just yet.

Back to the question. What needs to happen with Workstation based Linux distributions to become a more viable choice for general users who do not want to reside in Apple’s Walled garden, and those that want to avoid the grinding cogs Microsoft Machine and create that Year of the Linux desktop that will make and keep enthusiasts happy. Because until Linux becomes more adopted among users applications like Adobe CC, the Affinity Suite and Clip Studio Paint will not make the move to develop their apps for Linux.

1 Like

I suppose more people joining Linux and showing that it has higher market share to some point would have devs natively port their applications to Linux.

6 Likes