What improvements can I make to help my PC run better

I built my PC about ~7ish years ago on a budget. At the time, I wanted it to run games like LoL and Civ5 cleanly, and I didn’t care so much about graphics. Now I’ve got some more money and I want to run larger games with more complex graphics (namely Elden Ring and Baldur’s Gate 3) but my system really struggles to keep up. Here’s my current build:

Case: an older corsair model. I have the serial number (090215429701) but cannot for the life of me identify it further.

CPU: Intel i5-490K (3.5GHz)

CPU cooler: a cooler master fan (can’t find a number on it)

Graphics Card: Radeon RX 580 Series

RAM: Corsair 8GB DDR3

Motherboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5 (MS-9717)

Power Supply: EVGA Supernova 750 G2

Storage: Microsoft Storage Space Device 111.04 GB, Kingston SV300S37A120G 929.29 GB

Apologies for the spotty information, I’m quite new to this. Essentially, I’d like to know what my weakest pieces are, what could be improved on, etc. My budget is somewhere in the realm of $500 and I’m located in the US. Any suggestions on how to improve are welcome! If I can be more clear about some of my specs, let me know and I’ll try to clarify. Thanks!

If you are running windows the best thing you can do is religiously run defrag once a month
(( If you are using spinning rust ))even if windows tells you you dont need to.
If you are using ssd’s however
clear out temporary internet files.
Doing so will minimize the cpu cycles wasted on looking up cookie files.
Hardware wise adding memory and adding a graphics card with a good amount of its own memory can help.
Software wise, making use of the os’ s memory manager settings more towards performance than graphics.
With win 10 and 11 managing the damn adware built in will be a monumental task as it is.

With linux just clear the temporary internet and history files.