What could be the most economical solution for a 20 TB of Storage backup?

I am a 3D artist, usually I maintain an NVME SSD as a boot drive & a 1 TB internal HDD for some back up.

Now my Texture files & 3D files are ever increasing. It has reached 5 TB of back up, but I need this to be a little bit more future proof so I can expand it up to 50 TB.

This will be just a file server & only I will be accessing this NAS.

What will be your suggestion? Building my own? or buying an off-shelf Synology or QNAP NAS?

I would buy a TrueNAS Mini and go from there. If in a few years you want something with more bays, just buy or build something new and use the Mini as snapshot replication/backup target

3 Likes

How good will a Synology DiskStation DS423+ ( 4 BAY) be , in my country I can get it for $650 + 3x8 TB WD Red for $850.

Ironwolf 8 TB will stretch that budget another 200 USD, so I am trying to avoid it.

I think that would also work well

1 Like

Are you sure you need a NAS since you’ll be the only one using it? How often will you touch this data, download/upload, is it just a backup or a large space that you will use all the time for work?

The NAS you mentioned has two 1Gb/s network ports, is this bandwidth enough for you?

Maybe another approach instead of NAS would be DAS and USB connectivity?
It won’t be a standalone file server but it will expand your computer’s capacity in a fairly flexible way and if it’s going to be an occasional backup it doesn’t have to be on all the time.
If you care about high resistance against data loss in the event of a single hdd failure, then you can think about ZFS on such a DAS.

3 Likes

I second this, for your use case I would start with cold storage. Start with an 8TB drive (or two for a mirror). Once you get to four drives a RAID5, RAID6 or ZFS setup makes more sense.

Here is a USB 3.0 cabinet with 8 slots for ~$200-$225:

And then you can get 2x Seagate Exxos 18 TB for ~$600: