What books are the absolute bibles for different languages

I know there are hundreds if not thousands of books for learning the different languages but generally I find there is usually a “one book to rule them all” for any subject.

For C for example I am going to buy the “The C Programming Language 2nd Edition” Yes it is an old book but the guy who wrote the language is one of the writers and you cant get much better than that.

I however don’t know much about what books are out there for all the different languages.

I don’t want to buy all the books or the cheapest books, I just want to buy what is considered the best books on the subject matter.

I did a search but didn’t get any truly definitive answers.

For Go, it’s definitely “The Go Programming Language”, by Donovan and Kernighan.

Though, I usually just keep these books as a reference for when I can’t intuit something.

Yeah I know what you mean, I’m new to this so I don’t have the underlying knowledge to work things out intuitively.

Can recommend The C Programming Language by K&R as you’ve already mentioned.
C Programming: A modern Approach by King is highly regarded as well as far as I know, though I’ve never read it myself.

For Python I used Python Crash Course by Eric Matthes to get off the ground. I believe it’s highly recommended though I got it from a friend who decided programming wasn’t for him when I was checking Python out.

The C++ Programming Language by Bjarne Stroustrup I believe is the K&R equivalent, or as close as can be for C → C++ in one book. That said, I don’t think it’s near as beginner friendly.