Wendell's Bots, What language and What do they do?

@Wendell recently mentioned in one of the tek episodes that he has bots that generates web traffic clicking though stuff and others that monitor things like prices of tickets for shows.

I would love to know what language these were written in, What all of the little bots he has do (or can do) and maybe some videos on the how they work and maybe some guides for someone to build something like this of their own?

I would love to learn more about building stuff like this for myself, I have been a sysadm for years, (I started very young) but only recently learned to code when I started my University course, which sadly although has given me a basic understanding of Java hasn't given me a lot.....

I did thumb through to see if a post like this already existed and didn't find anything, If there is I do apologize!.

I have never tried this before, but I bet you can hack a web testing tool to do that more easily. Like Selenium.

Yes you can definitely use selenium. Might be a bit difficult though, I tried writing a bit of code with it the last time this topic came up. I couldn't get get sending mouse events to not crash the program for some reason, not sure why though.

He really should turn them into proper programs that you can install and have run at startup (both on Windows and Linux, of course).
I reckon a lot of people here would buy it.

Hell, make it a subscription-based model so it can provide a steady income for another intern.

I vaguely recall Wendell answering this question in another recent post: At the time Wendell said the script for the bots were made up of a series of scripts that he had created over the years.

Wendell also stated at this stage he wasn't in a position to release details of his bot-code (the mods would know the post I'm referring to)

1 Like