Virtual Machine - VGA Passthrough difficulties with 2 Identical GPUs

Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to Linux and KVM in general, so my apologies if this is a dumb question.

I am running Linux Mint 17, and have been trying to activate VGA Passthrough after
being inspired by Wendell's "GTA V on Linux" video.

System Hardware:

• Intel 4820K (Socket 2011) [ Note: No Internal Intel GPU]
  • Two Video Cards - Both Gigabyte Nvidia GTX 980 Ti's
  • Gigabyte X79 Extreme Motherboard (Supports Vt-x, Vt-dl. Both enabled)

Objective:

What I would like to do is dedicate one graphic card to my host system, and one to a guest
Virtualbox Windows 7 system.

Problem:

According to my research, I believe I need to create a pci-stub for the graphics adapter that is reserved for my guest system so that iommu can create a mapping to it. The problem is that both my video cards are identical, and so have the same stub id (i.e. the vendor and device types are the same).

Is there a solution whereby I can differentiate one card from the other, so that I can create a stub for one video card only? If not, what is the best way of achieving my goal of allocating my first video card to a host system, and having my second card available for a guest one.

Thank you.

part of the problem is actually with mint. i did the stuff before on mint but had to build qemu from source. also had issues with getting kvm signatures. which means nvidia drivers were disabling the card on startup

Hey man if you are running Mint then you are very close to Ubuntu.
Check out this guide

To your original point. The pci-stub is not required to pass through the hardware, it is used if you cannot blacklist the drivers that are assigned. If you can blacklist the drivers then pci-stub is not required.