Using ZFS on Ubuntu 21.04 (Desktop) for snapshots - Best Practices?

Hi L1 community-

I am looking for ideas and feedback regarding best practices for using ZFS on Ubuntu Desktop (actually a laptop!) for both snapshots and ZFS-send.

Goal

Use ZFS on my Ubuntu 21.04 laptop to perform snapshots and then send the snapshots to my TrueNAS Core NAS.

Primary questions

1. Is there a well regarded GUI manager for ZFS on Ubuntu?
  2. What data should I include/exclude from my snapshots and ZFS send?

GUI manager

I’ve read about webmin, cockpit, Houston (from 45 drives). These all seem to be directed at the server community. That isn’t a problem per-say, but I’m curious if the community has a favorite for managing ZFS on the desktop. Maybe just stick with the CLI. I’m not that familiar with ZFS on CLI but I’m pretty familiar with ZFS terminology as I’ve been using TrueNAS (Freenas) for a few years.
What does the L1 community do?

What data to snapshot?

I’m not super aware of the linux filesystem. It seems to be something that has evaded my knowledge being a moderate linux user. (Daily user for about 4 years.)

I’m thinking it is probably best to use an “include all except” approach instead of a “include only these items” approach.

As such my thought is to exclude the /mnt and /media directories. I think I will mount SyncThing and Nextcloud into /mnt or maybe create a third root directory. I have no need to backup SyncThing and Nextcloud as these areas are already on my TrueNAS server being backed up offsite. It would be redundant to include them in the backup of my desktop.
Anything else I should exclude?

Thanks all. Any other suggestions surrounding ZFS on Linux/Ubuntu are welcome.

1. I guess there is not.
  2. I created datasets for the following directories to be backed up
# User directory
/home 
# Games
/var/games
# Webserver 
/var/www
# for GNOME
/var/lib/AccountsService
# for Docker
/var/lib/docker
# for NFS
/var/lib/nfs
# for LXC
/var/lib/lxc
#libvirt