Used Ubiquiti EdgeRouter 6P for Gigabit home networking

It looks like I will be needing a router for my 1 Gigabit home connection, and there’s very little chance that I won’t be getting the UB ER-6P

Every networking device I have is from UB, switches, access points, that management key thingy. And to top it off I found a used router for about $160 converted, brand new would be $260.

Everything seems to be aligned, even though I don’t need the many ports it has.

What I’d like to know is how safe it is to buy something like this used? I know there’s a big market for used networking equipment, but I’m pretty sure the seller bought it like 3 weeks ago for around $100 and is now making a profit off of it.

The only warranty I’m aware at this point is his word that he’ll take it back in a week if something goes wrong. His reputation suggests he’s good for it though.

Any obvious things to look out for? Tests to run?

1 Like

I’ve been using Edgerouters since about 2014 and I’ve never had one die. The 6P hasn’t existed very long, so unless it was abused, I’d be pretty confident in it.

Testing-wise, test all the ports including the POE and then run it for a week or so. You can technically install apt packages on it if you want to run some other tests.

Are you pretty comfortable with networking? EdgeOS/Vyatta is a robust routing platform, but it doesn’t hold your hand like Unifi or even pfsense. There are a couple really basic wizards for initial setup, but in general, it will let you do some terrible things with no warning.

1 Like

I deployed one for my dad and sister has been a few years no issues

Unfortunately no. Don’t really have the capacity to expand my knowledge in that field.

Have you ever configured a non-consumer router before?

Nope, never had a non-hand-holding router.

I strongly dislike the Unifi gear, sure it works but there are better options IMO.