Upgrade suggestions

Hi all, After a few years out of PC gaming (I am 50+) , I am starting to get back into it. As an old timer, I will start with "back in the day" well, back in the day, PC gaming was frustrating... too many freeze ups...and at that time I couldn't afford very good gear, so I set it aside and went with an original XBOX... Well things have changed and I want to give it another go.

Today, I have a dedicated home theater. A couple of years back I built a home theater PC, which as it turns out, is a pretty decent gaming PC... I am thinking about upgrading maybe the CPU and GPU.. (BTW, I have over 30 years experience in IT, so you can talk tech as much as needed)

The current PC has...

asus m88 evo usb3 motherboard

Corsair 750 watt PS with dedicated 60 amp rail

AMD Phenom II 1090T (oc'ed to 3.6)

16gb ddr3 ram (I forget the brand, but better than average)

Samsung SSD 512mb primary disk (with 1tb mirror data drive) SATA 3

Gigabyte GEForce 660ti (slightly OC'ed)

Couple of Bluray writers (but that is mot important)

ok, So I want to upgrade, but don't want to have to get into a lot of exotic cooling and such. I forget what I built into this system, but it is very adequate in most cases (no pun intended)

If I upgrade I want to get the best balance I can to eliminate bottle necks....

my original thought was to upgrade the GPU to a MSI 780 ti gaming... but then I thought it would be top heavy with the processor I have... I want to stick to budget, so I started thinking for about the same price I can get an AMD 8350 Black and a MSI 780 Gaming (non-ti)

But now I worry that my motherboard may come into play....

Can you guys advise on if this would be a worthwhile upgrade over what I currently have? And if the MB would be an issue?

Thanks in advance

P,S, I know there are a lot of intel fans out there, and understandably so, but this system is what it is, and I don't want to go changing out motherboards.