Unreal Engine 4

Hi,

I am looking into learning some Unreal Engine and was wondering on peoples thoughts for the applications i want to use it for and any recomendations for ease of leaning and suitability of application.

What would I want to use it for?

Several things...

1. CGI creation, I am a freelance graphic designer, I do a fair bit of property and marketing and paying for professional high quality CGI's is expensive, I would be interested in starting to create my own high quality CGIs and aerials.

2. Game development, I would love to start looking into game and app game creation with stunning visuals

3. VR development, again developing VR would be fantastic especially when combined with interior CGIs if i could start creating spacial areas to move around in

What do I want

1. Is UE4 a good engine for the above?

2. Is it suitable for beginners?

3. Can you recommend learning resources?

Unreal is really good just look at all the games that support the older engine. If you are still learning and don't know the specifics, I would stick to 2D self made tweening/excel type programming or unity.

It has the most pro community. Unity is great and has a larger community, more plugins/support, but the Unreal people are all more pro from my experience. It's anecdotal... but the Unity dev meetups I went to were mostly, "I'm making an iPhone game," or, "I live with my parents but I want to make games when I grow up."

The Unreal Engine meetups that I went to were like, "Let's sit at the computer and procedurally generate a sun using particle effects and no textures!" They were a lot nerdier.

I'd recommend getting to know them both... if you want simple 2D... check Unity or GameMaker. If you want power... Unreal Engine.

4 Likes

Well,

Unreal is top notch software. It will be really good if you are already experienced in the C++ coding.