Unintentional 14 year Linux challenge?

I was inspired by @cotton to write a post asking for my badge as well. Like him, I also lurk. However, I can’t say that it’s started my career like it has for him, as my career is still technically beginning (I’m an extremely underpaid IT intern at a small school district effectively doing Level 2 support and out-of-warranty repairs on Chromebooks).

So I got my start in 2008, nearing the end of second grade for me (yes, I’m young). My father installed Fedora on a desktop for my brother and I to play with, mostly flash games on the internet, and MAME ROMs. I didn’t really dive into it much being a kid, though my interest started to peak more when I was given a snap circuits set for my birthday years later. It came with a wire that you plugged into your computer’s line in jack and you could use it as an oscilloscope. My father had me learn to use WINE for that. Around this time, I was playing with DOSbox on an android tablet and Limbo PC Emulator, I eventually dug into playing with VMware Workstation, trying to make VMs that’ll run on my crappy Polaroid PTAB7200 tablet in 2011. The computer around this point in time is running Fedora 15 Lovelock, later Spherical Cow.