UnFuck this ... whatever ... I don't know [solved]

First off: I am not a linux pro. I tried a few things here and there and while that is all fun, when I have a problem I have to spend time googling my way out. I know like five commands or so... but I'm getting where I wanna go. I tried LMDE, Ubuntu and debian mainly. While LMDE is not bad I always come back to debian with XFCE. It just seems to be the only system I would approve as stable.

For some reason Xubuntu 16.04 keeps being a dick to me. I wanted to use it because of the new AMDGPU-PRO driver because... I like games. I tried installing kernel 4.6, I reinstalled the AMDGPU-PRO drivers but sooner or later the system just stops. Freeze, no glitching on screen or so. It just stops and nothing works besides holding power down. I googled a lot and no one seems to have a real answer to that.

It is not the hardware, windows works just fine. And Xubuntu freezes even when basically nothing is connected anymore.

So fuck ubuntu! I want my debian back.

Here is the question: Can I get the AMDGPU-PRO driver for debian? I need that driver if I want to play games. And I WANT to play games.
I read somewhere that a new version of the driver is part of the latest steamOS release. That is basically debian, right? Can I use that?

Try arch or manjaro man.

4 Likes

AMD should give binaries for general linux soon enough.

AMDGPU-PRO are considered still in beta and have issues. It is not really the OS but the actual drivers that are not ready. In that respect using them on debian might not fix much...

1 Like

Nope. I want debian.

1 Like

Wow hello mr fuck ubuntu how are you today... Gonna blame issues of another company (AMD) on an operating system. By all means continue. I would love to see more justification

6 Likes

On my clock that would be precisely .... right now!