Turning down CPU clock when not under load but overclocked otherwise

I have limited experience overclocking so this might be an easy question. I have an 1800x I got for a good deal. Was just going to get a 1700 and overclock it, but went with the 1800x because of the deal. Anyway, I’ve overclocked to 4 GHz stable on all cores (might push it further, but that was the quick and dirty OC) and was wondering if there was a way to have the CPU clock speed decrease when not under load and go back up to the 4 GHz when under load. This computer stays on 24/7 as a plex server and doubles as a gaming machine/cryptominer sometimes when I’m in the mood. Do I need to give up the OC on the CPU to go back to the normal behavior of CPU clocks changing as needed? Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Motherboard? OS?

Ryzen balanced will do this in Windows.

Some MBs have a setting. Like ASRock has ‘Cool and Quiet’ which does that.

You can also go into Pstate settings, that you can Google…

1 Like

mobo = MSI x370 Gaming Pro Carbon (It does have a “Cool n’ Quiet” setting, but having this on while overclocked doesn’t seem to do anything)

Win10Pro x64

I’ll try the balanced power setting the drivers installed and see if that helps. Might dive into the other Pstate stuff if others fail. I guess I could always use the AMD software to activate the OC when I know I’ll need it and turn off when it sits idle. Thanks for the suggestions @Raziel

I won’t bother with having Ryzen underclock as there is not much power saving to do so. If you search on youtube “pstate overclocking ryzen” and watch “Why pstate overclocking on Ryzen CPUs isn’t worth the effort.” It will explain why. Just make sure you have global C-state enabled in bios and you should be all good.

Also make sure you download the chipset drivers from AMDs website first of all.

1 Like