Total upgrade or new GPU?

Hey everybody.

I'm going to be honest here, I'm a total newbie when it comes to computer and tech stuff so I'm here on my brothers request because he got tired of me asking questions about upgrades.

My current rig(?):
Motherboard: P8Z77-V LE Asus
CPU: Intel i5 3570k quad core.
Memory: 16gis of DDR3
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6950
Power supply: 550 watts

Could I feasibly upgrade my graphics card without having to do any major rocket surgery within the confines of a 400$ budget.

On a personal note, noise is not an "issue".

when it comes to graphics card upgrades, you can grab an R9-390 or an GTX 970. however I must ask what power supply he has though, you can get away with a 390 even though it pulls a considerable amount of power. but if you don't wish to deal with a PSU upgrade by all means consider the 970. it's incredibly efficient.

As for a system upgrade. your CPU is still fairly powerful you don't really need to upgrade the CPU or motherboard. but i would definitely upgrade the graphics card.

As far as I can tell by staring into my rig, my power supply is a "VX550w Corsair".

Oh you're fine. I would definitely recommend that you pick up an R9-390.
it's an awesome graphics card. and will last you a few years. if you aren't the type of person to upgrade too often.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202164&cm_re=R9-390-_-14-202-164-_-Product

3 Likes

I looked into the R9-390 and it says it needs a 750W power supply.

This seems to be a better alternative.
MSI Radeon R9 390 Gaming 8GB GDDR5

you'd be ok with 550W, unless you have 15 fans, and 5hdd's.

sapphire has better cooling solution, thus will perform better. At max gpu going to take about 250-270W