Threadripper BUILD. New to Linux. Lots of questions

Planning a new machine around Threadripper. It will be mainly used for Content Creation. Spending lots of time in premiere pro and after effects. Aside from content creation I work in IT. I want to learn more about networking and Linux and move on from the basic Help desk.

Questions

1. What’s the best OS to learn Linux on.? I’ve never used Linux a day n my life. I’d like to install a vm to mess around in.
  2. Is it better host VMs on separate drives?
  3. Best Cooing for tr4? Multiple reviews from both Amzn and PcPartPicker say enermax’s cooler fails and leaks

Doesn’t really matter which one you pick, Ubuntu is a good place to start, lots of guides and documentation.

Noctua U14S TR4 is an excellent choice.

1 Like

Fedora, RHEL, Opensuse, Centos, are distros that are used in the networking side of IT. Ubuntu as well in some places, I guess.

With RHEL,centos, you can even get a some sort of network certification. @IdecEddy is learning to get his… Or maybe you can still get the cert, without using those distro’s. I dunno.

This one’s a bit of bugbear. None of them are that great

Ubuntu family:
(+) sort of works out of the box some of the time
(+) very large community
(–) fragile outside of basic mainstream use cases
(–) badly documented downstream changes
(–) most in the community aren’t particularly knowledgeable or helpful (matters because upstream documentation is useless on ubuntu, so best effort support is all you really have)

Examples: Ubuntu, Elementary, Mint, KxStudio

Good choice if you want to get up and running without thinking about it, bad choice if you want to learn how linux works instead of how to trick ubuntu into working.

RHEL Family:
(+) documentation is accurate and actually makes sense
(+) They set the standards for most cert and production related practices, so learning their flavors can help with learning ‘employable’ linux