Threadripper Build for Relion/Cryo-EM Protein Resolving

Hi guys,

I’m a grad student in a lab that is using Cryo-EM to essentially take pictures of large proteins and then using those pictures, piece together a 3D structure. The software we are using to do that is Relion, and it will be running on CentOS. The way it works is we basically flash freeze purified proteins onto a laser grid, and then film them with an electron microscope. Then we have to piece together the 2D averages that we took pictures of into our 3D model, and that part is very very resource intensive. Our budget is up to $6000 or so.

Looking at the Relion benchmarks, it looks like a Threadripper 2950X should be enough with its 16 cores and 32 threads, to feed the GPUs, since there’s a benchmark of a 1950X feeding two Voltas, and benching 2:43, which is the fastest time on the benchmarks page. So it seems like a 2950X should prevent any kind of CPU bottlenecking.

Similarly, that system is running 128GB RAM, so I think we will be fine with that. How much of an impact will the RAM speed have on the CPU performance? Also, if the motherboard supports quad channel, will any RAM work in quad channel, or does it have to be quad channel specific memory?

We would like to go the 4 GPU route, so I need to find a motherboard that supports 4 GPUs, preferably at full speeds. Does such a thing exist? Everything I’m finding says 2xPCI-E 16 and 2xPCI-E 8, when running 4. Is there enough bandwidth to run 4x16?

As far as the GPUs go, I was thinking 2080s. They don’t support more than 2-Way SLI, but I think I can run them independently for Relion, they will be doing compute, not video rendering, so I want 4 of them. I was thinking MSI-VENTUS, if anyone has any experience with those.

Additionally, I’ll be running probably a 1TB SSD and a pair of 4 TB HDDs. I don’t know who makes a decent hard drive nowadays. WD Red Pro’s?