Return to Level1Techs.com

ThatBootsGuy's Tax Knowledge and Assistance

For those unaware, I am a tax professional.

I am not:

• an investment advisor or the like
  • a lawyer

And I don’t deal with:

• C-corps
  • S-corps
  • Partnerships
  • Foreign tax

With that out of the way, I have years of experience with personal income tax returns (US form 1040 and the like) and help run a company that sees over 1200 clients a year, of which I do about half.

The reason I’m making this thread is the amount of misinformation surrounding personal income tax is absolutely staggering, with this past year in particular being by far the most egregious thanks to the horrible news coverage.

This thread exists so I can answer questions and give advice in regards to US personal income tax, it’s not to discuss income tax on a meta level (no “tax is theft” please).

Also, legal reasons force me to put a disclaimer here along the lines of:

• This advice and knowledge is not to be taken as gospel and is based on the law as I understand it at the time a post is made, laws change constantly. Income tax law is not easy and requires having access to a lot of highly personal information in order to give the most accurate assessments, which for obvious reasons isn’t a good idea to be posting in such a public forum.
10 Likes

say you have 3k in stocks and plan to sell it, how much to keep for taxes?

or do I need more info

0 Likes

As a Reason subscriber, I am contractually obligated to say “taxation is theft”

Now that I have done my legal oblation, I have a question.

If say I have a hobby that could bring in about $100-$300 a month, would it be worth to do a sole proprietorship or wait until it reaches a higher amount? Specifically, would a sole proprietorship give me more options to write things off on tax’s, or is it not worth the hassle.

1 Like

When you sell stocks it depends on short or long term.