Switching between SIngle Monitor and Multimontor Setup

Newbie here, so please be gentle.

Ever since WFH, I’ve been using a multi-monitor setup. Nothing fancy, just a dual monitor setup. However, now that things are calming down, the boss wants everyone to come back to the office, where I don’t have any external monitors for the moment. So I have to switch between a laptop monitor at work, and a dual monitor at home using the same laptop.

Is there any way for me to set up the position of the windows in such a way that they remember where they are in a single display setup and a multi-display setup?

I think FancyZones for Windows can do that. Not really sure because I don’t use it (yet) but it should do the trick.

In my use I found out that, if I connect my laptop to my external monitor, disconnect it, and connect it back the windows do go to the monitor they used to be at. But it doesn’t work if I connect them for the first time.

FancyZones is part of PowerToys

From my experience, FancyZones can do it IF you don’t connect to a 3rd setup (in my case multi-monitor at home and at work, then it gets wonky).
Those are setting you might want to try:

• keep windows in zones after resolution changes
  • move newly opened windows to last known zone

1 Like

What OS are you running? As much as I hate to suggest it, I’ve heard that Windows 11 is much better about remembering window and monitor position. And as others have suggested, PowerToys / FancyZones.

@MetalizeYourBrain I’m using a docking station with the monitors constantly attached, so not sure if it’s feasible for me to do so.

@Zszywany Huh, first time I’ve came across this. Where the heck have I’ve been living? laughs Going to give them a try as soon as I can.

@Stiehl Running Win 10 at the moment, and not sure if I’ll ever give Win 11 a go.

1 Like