Suggest me a ZFS Pool layout

I’m building a home server for my whole family, I needed some help with respect to the pools and vdev. I have 8x20tb HDDs and 2x1tb sata ssd and 256gb boot nvme. The NAS will be used for storing mostly media (photos,videos) and some backups of phone, documents, etc.
What would be the optimal layout that I should go for ?
I am thinking using both SSDs for cache and rest of the HDDs in raidz2.
Does this seem sound enough ?

I have also heard about metadata but can it be safely kept on single ssd ? that way I can use one for cache and other for metadata, or do I need to have a parity drive for metadata aswell aka both ssds will be for metadata ?
P.S : this is my first time doing anything related to NAS, hence the topic

There is no optimal layout. There is only compromises

special metadata vdev needs redundancy same as your data vdevs. So a mirror of both SSDs will give you 1TB for metadata and optionally also small files. Or you use both SSDs as L2ARC. But you can’t do both with just two drives. A third NVMe as L2ARC would cover both types.
Media doesn’t use that much metadata because you can operate at high recordsizes, but ~100TB will still have substantial metadata regardless, so you better take care of this with memory and optional L2ARC/special vdev.

For pool configuration…either 8-wide RAIDZ2/3 or 2x 4-wide RAIDZ. The latter trades some redundancy for performance and easier expansion. Resilver time on full 20TB disks may feel uncomfortable, so people like having two or three disks of redundancy.
There is also the option to go for striped mirrors, which have the lowest capacity, shortest resilver time, good performance and easy expansion with 1-4 drives being able to fail.

2 Likes

Take a look here. Wendell takes a deep dive into Metadata disks. I’ve tested and used this and it works great with HDD’s.