Storage architecture for multi-use home server

Hi,

I am looking to build my first home server, and I want it to be a bit of jack of all trades. I have no previous experience with ZFS or TrueNAS, just what I got from reading articles so far.

Its main uses will be:

• Media storage, transcoding and delivery (plex)
  • Torrents
  • NAS (ftp, SMB)
  • Game servers (mostly modded minecraft)
  • Other occasional VMs (docker)

My problem is that these use cases have pretty varied storage requirements, and this article: “ZFS / TrueNAS Best Practices?” in this category (sorry can’t link) provided a lot of good insight, however my questions slightly different.

I have a limited budget and my idea is to buy something like 3x 8TB HDDs and one 2TB NVME SSD.
Considering I want:

• mostly read only, redundancy not required storage for media that is going to be by far the largest use of space
  • infrequently accessed NAS storage where redundancy is critical but not a lot of space is required, probably <1TB
  • higher performance storage for game servers and other potential VMs, where redundancy would be nice and the space requirements are also fairly low.

My preliminary naïve idea is to use TrueNAS Scale and ZFS, I could not find a way to achieve varied levels of redundancy without having completely separate pools, which makes little sense with so few drives, so my idea was to have RAIDZ1 pool for the HDDs and just use and allocate space on the SSD to applications as needed.

I have also read a bit about hybrid pools, but I am not sure if I could configure one to be both fast for applications like VMs and gameservers but also be good at storing large files accessed infrequently.

With that in mind I would love your opinions, suggestions and experiences on what approach I should take.
Questions that I would roughly like answered are:

• how would the architecture look like: Multiple freeNAS isntances? Do I even use freeNAS? Do I use anything on top?
  • how to pool the drives?