Stil Image: A drawing in Music

Warning: This is experimental, not good. I never claimed it was. This track might include sounds certain people are sensitive to or such. I don’t know. It’s nothing to “shock”, just, different.

With that out of the way, hi, i think i’ve finally gone mad.
A few weeks ago, a thought hit me. When someone draws a Picture, you as a “consumer” have infinite time to look at it, think about it and take it in. There is no limitation in terms of time. You have how ever long you want to take from it what you want. Some people might look at it for a second or two and others may study it for days or years.

Music on the other hand is timed. The artist decides what happens when and how fast. You as the audience have no say in that. You aren’t allowed to go into as much detail as you want.

So i started to think, as i’m a musician, how i could come up with something that’s still only sound, but gives you as the listener the option to spend as much or little time with it as you want. I guess, it’s close to ambient music, but that still has “movement” in it. I started to think about creating a singular sound that lasted “forever”, or at least doesn’t change. So you can start listening to it and disect it how ever you want. You can be fed up within seconds without “missing” something or listen to it for hours and find what ever you are searching for.

Since i’m only starting on what might be the journey to my madness, it’s not entirely what i envisioned at first. It’s got “some” movement to it. But that rather “local”. It also slows down over time to give more opportunity to find the details and get ever more granular.

With all that said, i expect no one to actually like it. I personally don’t think it’s pretty or “good” music in any meaning of the way. It’s just the manifestion of a thought that crossed my mind.

1 Like

Sorry I’m not very avant-garde