Steam/Proton TSW Legends error help please [FIXED]

Can someone please explain (in detail) exactly what I have to do do install the three missing components that are causing the TSW launcher to crash on startup. The issue has a fix but I’m not sure how to implement it.

The fix is explained here - https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Proton/issues/1511

I need step by step instructions for how to add those 3 components.

Running Ubuntu 18.04
Have installed latest nvidia drivers
Have installed Steam with Beta client, and Proton 3.7.8 beta

I have not installed WINE or winetricks - aside from what is auto installed by the steam install.

If any info required is missing let me know and ill add whatever is needed

1 Like

I’m new to Linux but here’s how you do this:

1. Open terminal and copy these commands, it will install wine, you can find them on winehq.org (copy each line and press enter, after first one you’ll need to enter your password, sometimes you’ll need to press y and enter):
    sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
    wget -nc https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/Release.key
    sudo apt-key add Release.key
    sudo apt-add-repository https://dl.winehq.org/wine-builds/ubuntu/
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install --install-recommends winehq-staging

2. Go to where your Steam Library is, default /home/{your user name}/.steam/steam/steamapps

3. You’ll see some files named appmanifest_and then some numbers, open them one by one until you’ll fine the one with your game name in it and remember that number.

4.From steamapps folder go to compatdata folder and then to a folder with a number that I told you to remember and then pfx folder.

1. Now open up a terminal and write:
    WINEPREFIX=
    don’t press enter, next on the open folder (pfx) blank white space press right mouse button and properties, then you’ll see line “Parent Folder” copy whats in it (by clicking on it 3 times and then ctrl+c) to the terminal.
    And at the end write winecfg