Steam Box Builds

With the release of SteamOS dawning on us shortly, i have sparked (like so many others) an interest in the putting together a Steam Box - Mainly aimed at streaming from my home server and from my pc to the living room, but also for netflix and such things. I am no expert on the subject so i am hoping for answers to the following questions.

- Can i stream from a windows media server to the Linux based SteamOS?

- Can i stream games from my gaming pc to my steam box and have my PC do the heavy lifting?

- Can i somehow set up airplay for "iPhone - pad other such things" on the steam box?

- Is the following hard ware sufficient to be a decent steam box for Streaming(games and media-files) and netflix watching? :  

- Cooler Master Silencio 352 - Case

MSI H61M-P31 G3 - Mother Board

Intel Core i3-3220 3.3GHz - CPU

Energon EPS-650W CM - PSU

Crucial 8GB (1x8GB) DDR3 - RAM

- Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX640 Overclocked - GPU

- Seagate 1 TB

- Lite-On Blu-ray Combo Internal.

All tips are well met, improvements or such.

Has to be silent - Sexy - Sufficient to Stream and use netflix - And best price/performance possible.  

- I don't know.

- The feature is planned and should be available with SteamOS

- I don't think so, not with stock ios.

Build is weak in general.  I would suggest an Athlon II X4 build, or perhaps an APU.  APU may also be more appealing due to the common space limitations around your media center.

I'm also looking to build a cheap Steambox/HTPC in the near future. Have some of the same questions as well.

In terms of hardware, I'm personally keeping the cost low and going with an APU-only slim micro-ATX or ITX build on the FM2+ platform to allow for future upgrade to the new Kaveri APU's.

My current build list as it stands thus far; http://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/MEC-777/saved/3dZc