Starting computer science in two months, need some help with prep

Hi, i'm going to begin studying computer science in two months, and im looking for some advice. I have a highschool level degree in ICT, so I know some if the basics e.g. I can write a simple calculator in python, c and java, I can make a simple webpage, I know the basics of php, setting up a windows and linux server. But I did no real paper writing, and only really simple maths and physics.

So im a bit worried because university studes is going to quite a bit more challenging.
I know that i'll have a python course and that I'll mainly be using java, so im trying to learn a bit more of both. But other than that, what would you recommend I do to prep before school starts?

Also, will any laptop do? The keyboard on my current laptop doesnt work properly so I need so get a new one and I was thinking about buying a HP ProBook with an i3 and 8gb ram, (but I loved the keyboard on the ThinkPad so I might get one of those if I can scrape together the money).

Thanks.

1 Like

If you have the basics of the languages you should probably start learning algorithms and dive into OOP concepts, basics of computer architecture, networking and probably improve maths skills since usually it is also important.
You can check:

There are a lot of begginer friendly videos about some computer sience concepts. Check playlists:
Introduction to Computer Science and Programming in Python
Mathematics for Computer Science
Computer Systems Security
Design and Analysis of Algorithms
or any other you feel suitable.

About practise I think you can check suggestions from threads below:

4 Likes