Some Advice Regarding Cisco Certifications

Hello again!
Recently I’ve been actively considering getting my Cisco Certification, and I was wondering what the wonderful people of the level1 forum would say regarding the matter.

Some clarification:

1. Yes! I know that there is more than one CC, and more than one flavor on some levels. I intentionally left that vague to see what the forum’s thoughts were.

2. My current level of networking knowledge is self rated at a 4/10, ten being expert. I’ve built multi subnet LANs with a homebrew pfSense router, partitioned chunks of one subnet for static ip use while using dhcp for the entire other subnet, etc. all ipv4, and all achieved by beating my proverbial head into the keyboard for long enough that it actually works. I took a CCENT practice exam and got 22/55 correct by more or less slightly educated blind guessing, hence 4/10.

3. I have no experience whatsoever with Cisco IOS, and was also wondering what form of lab setup I should use. I can spend money, but I don’t want to remortgage the family farm. :slight_smile: Which is to say I’m not afraid to buy physical hardware. Actually I’d like to go that route, just to have it around. :thinking:

At any rate, thanks in advance!

My point of view, I have a ccent 1 and a CCDA, due to work reasons. In hindsight I think that with CCNP in R&S, CCDA would have been way easier.

as for q´s
You will always have use for everything in Routing and Switching if you want to work with networks.
General recommendation is that you do ccent 1 then 2 for a CCNA, then go CCNP R&S. After that you can branch out. but the R&S is never “wasted” as it is the foundation.

For test preparation material I suggest boson.com and their test engine. They make it harder than the real test and the simlets are good. If you answer wrong you get a good explanation to why, they have a test engine with a few questions that you can try. I used that for my ccent 1 and will use it for my ccent 2.