[SOLVED]VFIO Not recognizing my GPU properly (Check description)

Edit: I originally posted this under the linux forum because I misidentified my issue as a linux problem, and not a problem with my implementation of VFIO. The original title of this post was “Debian 12 isn’t recognizing my GPU properly.” The lovely user mauli corrected my issues and pointed me in the right direction, so all credit goes to them.

Hello! I’m pretty new to linux (currently running Debian 12), and I’m having an issue I’m not sure how to get around. I’m trying to set up VFIO on my machine, but I’m not having any luck. Funnily enough, I was able to get it to work with my audio controller for my GPU, but not the GPU itself. I think that’s because if I do “lspci -k”, or “screenfetch”, or anything that’ll give me GPU information, it’s listed as the following (this specifically is how it’s listed in screenfetch):
AMD/ATI Navi 23 [Radeon RX 6600/6600 XT/6600M], AMD/ATI Cezanne [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series]

My GPU is a 6600, and I’m assuming it’s failing to work because I have some sort of non-specific graphics driver? I’m really not sure. I followed the tutorial on the “ATIHowTo” article on the debian wiki to install firmware, and I went to AMD’s website and downloaded the ubuntu drivers they had.

I guess I should clarify, that this is all a big guessing game for me. All I know is that my output looks like what I put above. I don’t know if that’s a problem, and I don’t know how to fix it. So any advice is greatly appreciated.

Hi and welcome to the forum!

Generally the driver detection looks correct to me, the system detects the category of driver which is generally required by the kernel/graphics module to talk to the device.