[SOLVED] Ubuntu 18.04 boots to black screen

I see in the past others had this same problem posted on level1techs, but nothing about or near the version of ubuntu I’m dealing with, Ubuntu 18.04 mate,.

Ubuntu mate noob here

I can’t find a folder called " gdm3" anywhere in my system nor wayland - either one seem to be the popular troubleshooting paths to take

My system auto boots to a black screen. I’d sit there for minutes on end but nothing happens.
All updates done.

Kernel 4.18.11 running via UKuu
Ubuntu 18.04 mate 64 bit
4790k cpu
Sata SSd
rx580 8GB vram sapphire nitro+ video card
16GB of ram
144hz ips 1440p monitor ( auto boots to only 120hz for some dumb reason)

I FINALLY was able to play doom 2016 flawless in steam in linux thanks to trying Ubuntu mate ( will try Mate in Mint later to see if the desktop environment cinnamon was the culprit in my woes in another chat channel/post), but this problem is becoming irritating.

***Now here’s the kicker. When I press Esc, it loads my desktop and everything loads up within 5 seconds or less. When first power on this PC, after POST, it goes to a grey screen for around 5 to 8 seconds, then goes to the black screen where unless I press Esc, nothing happens.

I have my system set to auto login. Ideas please? Thank you much.

Maybe its a driver issue? What GPU driver version are you using? And did you recently download a driver for your GPU?

What was the last update you made on the software? Also if you disable autologin and you login normally does it still happen?

Also yeah which drivers are you using? Stock from Ubuntu or did you update them?

1 Like

I don’t know what you mean by " what was the last update I made on the software?" I just do the built in Ubuntu mate software updater.