[SOLVED]Is there a way to maintain static IPs when switching modems?

I’m going to be replacing the internet modem in a few hours and would like to know what should be done to minimize the impact on home servers that are set up with static IP addresses to connect to cloudflare and similar services.

An all-in-one modem, or just the modem?
Take note of what they are and maybe the new one will let you set them manually.
If it’s just the the modem, shouldn’t have to worry about it.
I’m far from an expert here, I may be misunderstanding/misremembering something.

1 Like

I’m pretty sure its an all in one as it was sent by the ISP.

No Ip… That is all.

ok… https://www.noip.com/

If your modem is an all-in-one, then it is doing the duty of both a modem and a router.

Once your modem is down then immediately all devices are going to lose their connection to the internet, but I assume you are aware of this.

Once your router goes down, then all of the devices with static IP addresses will remain accessible to each other within the same subnets. For example a device at 192.168.1.10 can communicate with a device at 192.168.1.20. A device at 192.168.1.10 will NOT be able to communicate with a device at 192.168.2.20 though because there will be no router to route those packets between subnets. NAT also won’t work, but that doesn’t really matter since your modem will also definitely be down since it is the same device.

Personally, if I was in your situation I would just shut all these servers down while you switch out the hardware. If your new modem/router is working correctly and is setup exactly the same way as your prior one was, you should be able to just power on the servers and everything will “just work” again. This will likely be less of a headache and effort overall.