Return to Level1Techs.com

[solved]Configure Xonar STX for Linux/Ubuntu

linux
helpdesk

Ive just switched the last of my computers over to Linux but I need some help configuring the audio side of things.

Hardware
Asus Xonar Essence STX - 24 bit 192000kHz capable dedicated sound card.
Powered 2.0 stereo speakers - connected via RCA cables directly to sound card
AKG K712 Pro headphones - 64Ohm impedence - connected directly to headphone jack on rear of soundcard (I dont use front panel jacks)

How can I configure my soundcard in Ubuntu 18.10 to the ‘optimal’ settings? Right now everything works, but the volume level is MUCH lower than in windows 10, and audio seems lower in quality (I’d say thinner if I had to try and explain it)

I am still learning Linux, so Im happy to provide any info needed to configure this but please be explicit and verbose in your requests.

Alright first things first, Lets talk some basic sound knowledge before getting into linux.