[SOLVED] 2006 Macbook can't reinstall mac os

Hello, i recently got a black Macbook from 2006, and i can’t seem to reinstall mac os. I have never used a mac before in my life, only windows and linux. I tried command+r and command+alt+r, but neither work upon bootup. Any other ideas? I am running the latest verson of mac os available for this PC, 10.6.8

Just hold the option key down while booting and it should show you a boot menu.

Are you using the DVD to install Mac OS or are you using a USB drive?

no, i was just going to wipe the drive and reinstall using recovery mode. i do not own a mac os DVD or a USB stick.

Apple says if you can’t boot recovery you need to reinstall macOS after starting up from another disk or volume, or by using a bootable installer.

If it’s an early 2006 machine it does not support Lion and thus would not have a recovery at all. Recovery was introduced with 10.7 ( Lion ).

You may also be able to find an iso of the system software disks on the Internet Archive that you can burn to a DVD and use that in lieu of a USB installer.

Is it a macbook or a powerbook

It’s a black MacBook, it’s Intel.

1 Like

Are you trying to boot recovery? That was only introduced in 10.7.2 or .3, its not a thing in 10.6. However, you can get mac cleaner, then make a new account.

I would reccomend installing a linux distro like xubuntu and running that. Alternatively, you can harkintosh a laptop such as a lenovo y40-70 (I have a thread on how to do it and showing how I did it). Y40-70’s can be had for dirt cheap, but you won’t have dgpu. You can, however, run latest mac os.

Theres also mac postfacto, though idk if 10.7 has had a 32bit kernel made.

Alternatively, theres 10.7 core, which is a modded image of the 10.7 developer pleview. You have to reinstall it oncein a while because its the preview image, but you get abrecovery partition… I think.